Forest of Dean District

12 hours ago
Albert Flores

Forest of Dean is a local government district in Gloucestershire, England, named after the Forest of Dean. Its council is based in Coleford. Other towns and villages in the district include Blakeney, Cinderford, Drybrook, English Bicknor, Huntley, Littledean, Longhope, Lydbrook, Lydney, Mitcheldean, Newnham and Newent.

The district was formed on 1 April 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972, as a merger of the East Dean Rural District, Lydney Rural District, Newent Rural District and West Dean Rural District, and from Gloucester Rural District the parishes of Newnham and Westbury-on-Severn.


Forest of Dean District Council carries out a variety of district council functions including: *Benefits - Housing and Council Tax *Car Parking *Concessionary Travel *Council Tax - Administration and Collection *Elections and Electoral Registration *Environmental Health (includes Domestic and Commercial Premises) *Food Safety and Hygiene Complaints *Noise Pollution and Pest Control *Housing Administration *Licensing *Caravan Sites *Planning, including Planning Applications, Advice and Appeals *Public Conveniences (in some locales) *Health and Leisure Centres *Refuse Collection *Recycling *Tourism and Visitor Information.

5 min read
Share this post:
Like it 8

Leave a Comment

Please, enter your name.
Please, provide a valid email address.
Please, enter your comment.
Enjoy this post? Join Eduo
Don’t forget to share it