Jōetsu region (上越地方) is a geographical region within Niigata Prefecture, Japan. It includes of the cities of Jōetsu, Itoigawa and Myōkō.

Join Group About Jōetsu region
1.725 Members
764 Posts


The historical Jōetsu region is in the area of the old provinces of Kōzuke and Echigo. The region is traditionally known as a less developed area of Japan.

The Joetsu area is a strategic hub in the larger regional transport network.