Jefferson County, Kentucky

12 hours ago
Albert Flores

Jefferson County is located in the north central portion of the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of the 2020 census, the population was 782,969. It is the most populous county in the commonwealth (with more than twice the population of second ranked Fayette County).

Since a city-county merger in 2003, the county's territory, population and government have been coextensive with the city of Louisville, which also serves as county seat. The administrative entity created by this merger is the Louisville/Jefferson County Metro Government, abbreviated to Louisville Metro.

Jefferson County is the anchor of the Louisville-Jefferson County, KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area, locally referred to as Kentuckiana.



Jefferson County-originally Jefferson County, Virginia-was established by the Virginia General Assembly in June 1780, when it abolished and partitioned Kentucky County into three counties: Fayette, Jefferson and Lincoln. Named for Thomas Jefferson, who was governor of Virginia at the time, it was one of Kentucky's nine original counties on June 1, 1792.

In 1778, during the American Revolutionary War, George Rogers Clark's militia and 60 civilian settlers, established the first American settlement in the county on Corn Island in the Ohio River, at head of the Falls of the Ohio. They moved to the mainland the following year, establishing Louisville.

Richard Mentor Johnson, the 9th Vice President of the United States, was born in Jefferson County in 1780, while the family was living in a settlement along the Beargrass Creek.

The last major American Indian raid in present-day Jefferson County was the Chenoweth Massacre on July 17, 1789.


Whenever possible, the metro government generally avoids any self-reference including the name "Jefferson County" and has even renamed the Jefferson County Courthouse as Metro Hall.

Prior to the 2003 merger, the head of local government was the County Judge/Executive, a post that still exists but now has few powers. The office is currently held by Queenie Averette.

Local government is effectively now led by the Mayor of Louisville Metro, Greg Fischer.


According to the United States Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 398 sqmi, of which 380 sqmi is land and 17 sqmi (4. 3%) is water. +more The Ohio River forms its northern boundary with the state of Indiana.

The highest point is South Park Hill, elevation 902 ft, located in the southern part of the county. The lowest point is 383 ft along the Ohio River just north of West Point.

Adjacent counties

Bullitt County (south) * Shelby County (east) * Oldham County (northeast) * Spencer County (southeast) * Hardin County (southwest) * Clark County, Indiana (north) * Harrison County, Indiana (west) * Floyd County, Indiana (northwest)


Major highways


As of the census of 2000, there were 693,604 people, 287,012 households, and 183,113 families residing in the county. The population density was 1,801 /sqmi. +more There were 305,835 housing units at an average density of 794 /sqmi. The racial makeup of the county was 77. 38% White, 18. 88% Black or African American, 0. 22% Native American, 1. 39% Asian, 0. 04% Pacific Islander, 0. 68% from other races, and 1. 42% from two or more races. 1. 78% of the population were Hispanic or Latino of any race.

There were 287,012 households, out of which 29. 60% had children under the age of 18 living with them, 45. +more20% were married couples living together, 14. 70% had a female householder with no husband present, and 36. 20% were non-families. 30. 50% of all households were made up of individuals, and 10. 30% had someone living alone who was 65 years of age or older. The average household size was 2. 37 and the average family size was 2. 97.

In the county, the population was spread out, with 24. 30% under the age of 18, 8. +more90% from 18 to 24, 30. 40% from 25 to 44, 22. 80% from 45 to 64, and 13. 50% who were 65 years of age or older. The median age was 37 years. For every 100 females, there were 91. 60 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there were 87. 60 males.

The median income for a household in the county was $54,357 (2018), and the median income for a family was $49,161 (2005). Males had a median income of $36,484 versus $26,255 for females (2005). +more The per capita income for the county was $31,980 (2018). About 14. 8% of the population were below the poverty line, including 22. 1% of those under age 18 and 8. 2% of those age 65 or over (2018).


Since the formation of Louisville Metro on January 6, 2003, residents of the cities below also became citizens of the newly expanded Metro, but none of the incorporated places dissolved in the process. The functions formerly served by the county government for the towns were assumed by Louisville Metro. +more However, the former City of Louisville was effectively absorbed into the new city-county government.

* Anchorage * Audubon Park * Bancroft * Barbourmeade * Beechwood Village * Bellemeade * Bellewood * Blue Ridge Manor * Briarwood * Broad Fields * Broeck Pointe * Brownsboro Farm * Brownsboro Village * Buechel † * Cambridge * Cherrywood Village * Coldstream * Creekside * Crossgate * Douglass Hills * Druid Hills * Fairdale † * Fairmeade * Fern Creek † * Fincastle * Fisherville * Forest Hills * Glenview Hills * Glenview Manor * Glenview * Goose Creek * Graymoor-Devondale * Green Spring * Heritage Creek * Hickory Hill * Highview † * Hills and Dales * Hollow Creek * Hollyvilla * Houston Acres * Hurstbourne Acres * Hurstbourne * Indian Hills * Jeffersontown * Keeneland * Kingsley * Langdon Place * Lincolnshire * Louisville * Lyndon * Lynnview * Manor Creek * Maryhill Estates * Meadow Vale * Meadowbrook Farm * Meadowview Estates * Middletown * Mockingbird Valley * Moorland * Murray Hill * Newburg † * Norbourne Estates * Northfield * Norwood * Okolona † * Old Brownsboro Place * Parkway Village * Penile * Plantation * Pleasure Ridge Park † * Plymouth Village * Poplar Hills * Prospect * Richlawn * Riverwood * Rolling Fields * Rolling Hills * Seneca Gardens * Shively * South Park View * Spring Mill * Spring Valley * Springlee * St. +more Dennis † * St. Matthews * St. Regis Park * Strathmoor Manor * Strathmoor Village * Sycamore * Ten Broeck * Thornhill * Valley Station † * Watterson Park * Wellington * West Buechel * Westwood * Whipps Millgate * Wildwood * Windy Hills * Woodland Hills * Woodlawn Park * Worthington Hills.

:† Formerly a census-designated place in the county, but, in 2003, these places became neighborhoods within the city limits of Louisville Metro.


Jefferson County has voted for the Democratic candidate in every presidential election since 1992. In the 2019 gubernatorial election, it voted for Democrat Andy Beshear by a higher percentage than any other county in Kentucky, giving him 67% of the vote.


The public school districts for the county are: Jefferson County School District (JCPS) and Anchorage Independent School District. - [url=https://www2. +morecensus. gov/geo/maps/DC2020/PL20/st21_ky/schooldistrict_maps/c21111_jefferson/DC20SD_C21111_SD2MS. txt]Text list[/url] The specific Anchorage school boundary is here: The Anchorage district only covers grades K-8; Anchorage district residents may attend JCPS or Oldham County Schools.

Kentucky School for the Blind, a state-operated school, is in Louisville.

5 min read
Share this post:
Like it 8

Leave a Comment

Please, enter your name.
Please, provide a valid email address.
Please, enter your comment.
Enjoy this post? Join Eduo
Don’t forget to share it