National Weather Service Louisville, Kentucky

12 hours ago
Albert Flores

National Weather Service Louisville is a weather forecast office responsible for monitoring weather conditions for 49 counties in north-central, south-central, and east-central Kentucky and 10 counties in southern Indiana. The office is in charge of weather forecasts, warnings and local statements as well as aviation weather. It is also equipped with a WSR-88D (NEXRAD) radar, and an Automated Surface Observing System (ASOS) that greatly increase the ability to forecast. The NEXRAD radar site utilized by the forecast office is located near West Point, Kentucky on the north side of the Fort Knox Military Reservation.

NOAA Weather Radio

The National Weather Service Forecast Office in Louisville, Kentucky provides programming for nine NOAA Weather Radio stations in the office's jurisdictions.

Weather Radio stations

StationFrequency (MHz)City of licensePowerPrimary coverage area
KIH41162. 400Lexington1,000 WattsCentral Kentucky - Lexington and surrounding communities; Georgetown, Winchester, Versailles, Frankfort, Mount Sterling, Richmond, Berea, Stanford, Lancaster, Danville, Harrodsburg, Irvine, Paris, Cynthiana, Owingsville, Carlisle, Mount Olivet, Flemingsburg, and Stanton (Fayette, Scott, Clark, Woodford, Franklin, Montgomery, Madison, Lincoln, Garrard, Boyle, Mercer, Estill, Bourbon, Harrison, Bath, Nicholas, Robertson, Fleming, and Powell)
KIH43162. +more475New Albany, IN/Louisville, KY1,000 WattsKentuckiana region - Breckinridge, Bullitt, Hardin, Henry, Jefferson, Meade, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, Trimble, and Counties of Kentucky; Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Jefferson, Orange, Scott, Washington Counties in Indiana (Hardinsburg, Shephardsville, Elizabethtown, New Castle, Metro Louisville, Brandenburg, Bardstown, La Grange, Shelbyville, Taylorsville, Bedford, KY; Jeffersonville, Marengo, New Albany, Corydon, Madison, Paoli/French Lick, Sellersburg, Salem, IN)
KIH43A162. 55Elizabethtown300 wattsBullitt, Hardin, Larue, and Nelson Counties (Shepardsville, Elizabethtown/Radcliff/Fort Knox, Hodgenville, Bardstown)
KIH45162. 400Bowling Green1,000 wattsWest-central Kentucky - Bowling Green, Brownsville, Morgantown, Russellville, Franklin, Scottsville (Warren, Edmonson, Butler, Logan, Simpson and Allen Counties)
KZZ62162. 475Burkesville300 wattsClinton and Cumberland Counties of Kentucky; Clay County, Tennessee -- Albany and Burkesville
KZZ63162. 525Campbellsville300 wattsGreen and Taylor Counties -- Greensburg and Campbellsville
KZZ64162. 45Ekron/Brandenburg300 wattsBreckinridge and Meade Counties (Hardinsburg and Brandenburg)
WNG570162. 5Horse Cave1,000 wattsKentucky's Cave Country - Cave City/Glasgow, Brownsville, Greensburg, Munfordville/Horse Cave, Edmonton, Tompkinsville (Barren, Edmonson, Green County, Hart, Metcalfe, and Monroe Counties)
WWF82162. 525Richmond100 wattsGarrard and Madison Counties -- Lancaster, Richmond, Berea
WZ2523162. 5Frankfort300 wattsFranklin County (Frankfort)

5 min read
Share this post:
Like it 8

Leave a Comment

Please, enter your name.
Please, provide a valid email address.
Please, enter your comment.
Enjoy this post? Join Eduo
Don’t forget to share it